Athirne

{WIP Step by Step} Z590 Gigabyte Vision D + I7 Rocket Lake-S

So for YOLO I decided to get a new rig going to step up from my Z390 Taichi and wanted to share progress and steps to get where I am at. Hope to make this a full guide in the end so anyone can reproduce if they want. Namely I did this because the USB subsystem became to unpredictable on my last hack so I decided to make a new monstrocity because I have been tinkering making hack macs since in 2005 I took the Dev Kit bits and started hacking onto P4 machines in a college lab. I like challenges and normally start with unsupported to slowly work on getting something usable. I don't recommend this build yet until its a bit more stable and I have time to work through every last thing. Its totally usable now hence why I am writing this now.

Build components [changing over time]:

• Intel 11700k Rocket Lake -S  CPU [Now worth it since you can get it for a bit over 300 USD at time of writing in the discount + sale + bundles pricing]
  • Gigabyte Z590 Vision D [ $$$ but I wanted to play with native thunderbolt and the new ALC codec that hangs off the USB subsystem]
  • g.Skill 3466 DDR4 32 GB kit [re-used] 
  • XFX Radeon VII [ re-used & will swap with 6800 XT which is supported starting in 11.4]
  • 2 TB Samsung 970 NVME SSD [ re-used ]
  • Aquantia 10 GBe NIC [Asus & re-used ]
  • Airport Extreme 802.11 AC Wave 2 in PCIe [Re-used and will replace with onboard Intel AX + BT 5.0 setup when I have time built into the new mainboard]

What Works:

• Boot, basic power states on CPU, GPU, USB, Storage, 10 GBe add-in, onboard 2.5 gbe nics, Apple wifi, audio, updates
  • Good for daily production use. No crashes, no kernel panics, feels nice but still some work to do.

What is still a WIP:

• Final USB port mapping [ right now still running usbport limit patch using std USBAll kext ]
  • Full Thunderbolt 4
  • Onboard wifi + bt replacing Apple wifi