ddpruel

Bizarre USB Behaviour on Catalina OpenCore Z370 Build

Motherboard: Asus Z370-P II (Bios version 1203)

CPU: i5 9600k

Graphics: Radeon RX 5500XT

Hi guys! I'm new to Hackintosh and I'm having some trouble with my build. I'm trying to be a good question-asker and provide you with as much detail as possible. I would really appreciate if someone could weigh in with their expertise.

Problem

I installed Catalina with the Dortania OpenCore vanilla guide and had no problems. The guide was comprehensive and easy to follow, I was lucky enough that my .aml requirements could be fulfilled "the easy way" using SSDTTime and the precompiled USBX.aml. However, I discovered some strange USB behaviour.

My initial EFI uses the XhciPortLimit patch without USBInject all or any sort of USB map. Many of my USB devices work fine, my keyboard and mouse receiver works, as does my bluetooth adapter and my USB mic. My external RAID enclosure even works perfectly. What doesn't work is any other USB storage device, including a portable external HDD and USB sticks (both USB 2.0 and 3.0 ports). This behaviour is the same with all USB ports. Sometimes, the system will get laggy when one of these "unsupported" devices are plugged in. On verbose boot, if one of these devices is plugged in, this flashes across the screen a solid minute before booting (this happens with all the different EFI's I've made).

What's more confusing to me is that if I go to system report or IO explorer, I can see the devices being added, but they are not shown in disk utility at all. On my initial config, it will occasionally freeze after plugging in or unplugging any of these non-working devices.

What I've Tried